Welcome to the Jungle

Guns 2 Roses posterOn Friday 4 March, tribute band Guns 2 Roses play The Standard. Guns 2 Roses are arguably the biggest Guns N’ Roses tribute band around, and have been playing together since 2002. They have even played with members of the real Guns N’ Roses, including Steven Adler.

One of the rules I have set myself for this blog is that I treat every event equally, whether it’s a big name gig or a small community event. But I have to say, I am really looking forward to seeing Guns 2 Roses.

Having got into Guns N’ Roses in 1993(ish), I have been listening to Appetite for Destruction and Use Your Illusion 1 & 2 for around seventeen years. Those three albums are probably among the eight or nine records I have listened to most often in my entire life. They might not be very ‘cool’ now but when I was a teenager, I thought Guns N’ Roses were rock ‘n’ roll outlaws of the highest order. Having said that, they are one of the few bands that I never got to see live. I’ve not even seen the shambles that is Axl and his mates these days. The closest I got was seeing Velvet Revolver play ‘It’s So Easy’, ‘My Michelle’ and ‘Use To Love Her’ at Hammersmith Apollo a few years back. It was electric.

So, Guns 2 Roses at The Standard. Tickets are £9 and available from the venue. Here’s The Standard’s website. Here’s the Guns 2 Roses Myspace page. And here’s the real thing playing ‘Welcome to the Jungle’ at the Ritz in New York in 1988. You know where you are? You’re in the jungle, baby.

Leave a Reply

